2023: A Year of Uncertainty and Growth

Abdul-Muizz Hamzat, a student of knowledge

2023: A Year of Uncertainty and Growth

Hello, I'm Abdul-Muizz Hamzat, a student of knowledge. The title above isn't a mistake; I often contemplate the uncertainties of the future, a reality beyond my control. This reflection is an attempt to encapsulate my year – the challenges faced, lessons learned, encounters with amazing people, and my outlook for the coming year.

To keep this organized, I aim for brevity and clarity. I appreciate your understanding; this isn't a call for pity or celebration, but rather a shared journey.

Academic Pursuits and Transition to Tech

I embarked on my Civil Engineering journey at the University of Ilorin two years ago. However, a year of being home bound due to the ASUU strike became the window of opportunity that led me into the realm of technology. It was during this period that I initiated my foray into the world of tech. Motivated by curiosity, I began learning web development with no clear path but a determination to improve daily. Gratitude is owed to my support system – parents, siblings, friends, mentors, and teachers.

Professional Challenges and Learning Experiences

Around March, like everyone else, I desperately wanted a job. I thought I was ready with my calculators and to-do apps. Got a gig through a family member – an Election Management System. Sounds cool, right? Well, I messed up big time.

Bro Roqeeb was like, "Abdul-muizz, what's going on?" Felt like I did it on purpose, but truth is, I was clueless. I reached out to him for help and he provided pointers

Before that, I watched three ReactJS videos, thinking I got it all. Nope. Turns out, those "1-hour crash courses" were pure lies.

Failing hit hard. I opened up to my brother, and he gave me a pep talk – leave the problem, do something fun. So, I did.

Lessons Learned and Bouncing Back

Here's the lowdown:

1. You can't run from basics; they're crucial.

2. Reflect on failures but cut yourself some slack.

3. Life's a journey – the good and the ugly.

I got over it but knew I had to leave my comfort zone. Found two awesome instructors on YouTube – Dave Grey and Pedro Tech. Their ReactJS courses were long but worth it. Dedicated two months, and boom, I was done.

Tech Wins and Giving Back

Post-YouTube retirement, I dived into building stuff. TechTrybe, a tech community, and NoFace, an anonymous web app, stood out. Joined teams, became an HNG semi-finalist, won a hackathon, got involved in open source, created youtube videos, and even mentored in frontend development – cool, right?

Personal Insights and What's Next

Personally, I'm not where I want to be, but those baby steps matter. No specific goals this year – just going with the flow. Romantically, well, let's just say attention isn't love, and silence speaks volumes.

Spiritually, it's been a rollercoaster, but finding peace with my faith is the goal. Huge shoutout to family and friends – couldn't name everyone, but you're cherished.

Takeaways from My Journey

1. Your circle influences you.

2. Your mindset is powerful.

3. Embrace growth; your time is coming.

4. Learn from everything – good or bad.

5. Stay open-minded.

6. Love yourself as you love others.

7. Anger won't fix a thing.Goals for the Next Year

Goals for the Next Year

As I step into the uncertainties of 2024, my aspirations include:

  1. Become a Better Person:

    • Work on leaving bad habits behind.
  2. Academic Excellence:

    • Strive for excellent grades in school.
  3. Professional Growth:

    • Improve skills and prove myself worthy of a software engineer role.
  4. Community Involvement:

    • Get involved in open source projects.
  5. Physical Wellness:

    • Play table tennis regularly for recreation and consider pursuing it professionally.
  6. Spiritual Journey:

    • Take my Deen and Quran seriously.
  7. Task Completion:

    • Complete unfinished tasks from 2023.
  8. Literary Pursuits:

    • Read books to broaden my knowledge.
  9. Language Learning:

    • Learn Chinese.
  10. Communication Skills:

    • Learn to articulate thoughts properly in both spoken and written form.
  11. Writing Endeavors:

    • Write articles and express thoughts effectively.
  12. Professional Aspirations:

    • Participate in and win hackathons.
  13. Personal Development:

    • Prove myself worthy of a software engineer through continuous learning.
  14. Trust in Faith:

    • Put my trust in Allah.

May the coming year bring growth, achievements, and fulfillment on this journey of self-discovery and improvement.